Dark or Light
Elder Scrolls Online Logo

Elder Scrolls Online

Bethesda Softworks | Official Site

  • Genre:

  • Setting:

  • PVP:

  • Classification:

  • Engine:

  • Style:

  • Developer:

    Zenimax Online Studios
  • Status:

  • Release Date:

  • Distribution:

  • Business Model:


Average User Rating

769 Votes

Login to cast your rating!

Elder Scrolls Online Overview

The Elder Scrolls Online is a fantasy MMORPG from Zenimax Online Studios and Bethesda Softworks based on the popular Elder Scrolls series. The game takes place during the Age of Heroes, 1,000 years before the events of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim, and features classic regions of Tamriel, including Morrowind, Daggerfall, and Skyrim. The Elder Scrolls Online offers both solo and group questing, public dungeons, guilds, and massive PvP warfare that sets the game's three player factions against one another for control over the region of Cyrodiil and the throne of Tamriel.

Since its initial launch in 2014, The Elder Scrolls Online (ESO) has made drastic changes for its playerbase that has greatly affected the scope, including removing the mandatory subscription service in 2015 and making it optional. The optional subscription allows players access to all currently available DLC, a monthly alotment of 1650 Crowns for use in the item shop, and various passive bonuses like a 10% experience boost and a bag for crafting materials.

In 2016, the 'One Tamriel' update for ESO removed all PvE level restrictions from questing and grouping to instead allow for level scaling that is unique to each player. In 'One Tamriel' both low-level and high-level adventurers could party together and receive rewards and experience suitable for their level.

There have been six major expansions to ESO, with the most recent expansion High Isle having launched for PC on June 6, 2022. Morrowind launched in 2017 and added the region of Vvardenfell alongside the first additional class, the Warden. Summerset launched in 2018 and added the Summerset Isle setting, the new Jewelry crafting, and the Psijic Order skill line. Elsweyr launched in 2019 and added the new setting of Elsweyr as well as the new Necromancer class. Greymoor launched in 2020 and added the new zone Western Skyrim and a new system called Antiquities. Blackwood launched on June 1, 2021 exploring Cyradil and added a new Companions system. High Isle added two new zones as well as introduced a card-based minigame called Tales of Tribute.

The latest expansion Necrom was announced during the Xbox Developer_Direct showcase on Jan 25, 2023. The new expansion features the titular city Necrom, the city of the dead, and added a new class: the Arcanist. This new class is a spellcaster that utilizes destructive, restoration, and defensive magic via ancient runes and tomes. It released on June 5, 2023 on PC and will release on June 20, 2023 for consoles.


  • Dragonknight
    Burn your foes in cleansing flame and withstand almost any assault with the Dragonknight, a fiery, unrelenting Class that thrives in the heart of battle. The Dragonknight Class allows you to win the war of attrition with abilities that draw power from both the earth and the beasts of myth while overpowering your foes with ferocious Fire spells.
  • Sorcerer
    The horrors of Oblivion and the power of lightning itself are yours to command with the Sorcerer Class. As a Sorcerer, unlimited power is at your fingertips, allowing you to call powerful lightning strikes from above, support your allies, suppress your enemies, or overwhelm your foes with Daedric monsters. 
  • Nightblade
    Attack from the shadows, drain your foes' health, and vanish into the void with the Nightblade Class. The shadows truly are your greatest weapon as you wield abilities that deal devastating damage at any range and siphon your victim's lifeforce to your allies. 
  • Templar
    Seeking darkness whether it might be found, the Templar is a beacon to their allies and a blinding threat to their foes. As a Templar, you must bring justice to Tamriel in the form of cleansing light. Call forth the limitless power of the sun to obliterate your enemies and restore yourself and your allies in radiant light.
  • Warden
    Manipulate the wilds and summon powerful beasts with the Warden, a versatile Class that draws from the power of nature itself. When playing a Warden character, you can unleash the fury of the wilds upon unsuspecting intruders, wrap your allies in the healing power of the Green, and encase yourself in impenetrable, protective frost. The Warden class is unlocked with the Morrowind expansion or purchased in the Crown Store.
  • Necromancer
    All of Tamriel’s dead are a resource for you to manipulate and exploit, as nothing is forbidden for those who seek to master the dark arts. The Necromancer Class brings a unique style of play to The Elder Scrolls Online, allowing you to summon the undead and make use of corpses to overwhelm your enemies and empower your attacks. The Necromancer class is unlocked with the Elsweyr expansion or purchased in the Crown Store.
  • Arcanist
    Master forbidden knowledge and manipulate arcane energies, ancient runes, and lost tomes as the Arcanist. Draw power not intended for mortal use and weave destructive, restorative, or defensive magics that are further empowered by the unique Crux system. Available with the Necrom Chapter.